The time and the life

 

There is only a single beauty, that of the truth which shows by itself, Auguste Rodin entrusted . (famous French sculptor, 19th century).

 

This magic race in search of an often imperceptible reality began when the artist wanted to use the matter to translate an emotion or express a sensation. The sculptor so intends to translate the secret relation which he maintains with the bronze, the marble and the iron. Then the work of both eye and hand achieves a commitment.

Voltaire (French famous writer and philosopher)  underlined the importance of the gesture as he wrote: " without any doubt, all the arts of the hand  come several centuries ahead of metaphysics ". Antoine de Saint-Exupéry (French novelist and aviator) completed by asserting that: " if the sculptor is only science and intelligence, the hands will miss genius ".

Such appears to us Michael LEVY's artwork when he makes a dream appearing, a myth, using the volume to complete the movement. The deep roots of his art are situated in the precision and the reaction stirred up at him by inspiration and imagination.

He imposes with genuineness a delicate and personal style. He is not swayed  by the sensibility of epoch. He pursues a tradition which goes back up to the Antiquity never undergoing the effects of the fashions. So every generation imposes on the sculpture his imprint.

Michael LEVY's nudes remain chaste and quiet. They teach us that the body remains the inseparable envelope of the soul, as Degas told us (French famous painter) whose statues cared only about a natural attitude.

Michael LEVY's artworks always provide us with the weird magic of a secret. Beyond the strength and beyond the magnificence of the forms, they pull us in search for a forever living internal vision.

 

Pierre-Christian TAITTINGER

Former Minister of the French government.

Mayor of the XVIth District in Paris, France.

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Instagram

Site PEINTURES cliquez  ICI     © 2020- Michel Levy

Le temps et la vie

Discours de Pierre-Christian Taittinger, ancien ministre et maire du XVIe arrondissement de Paris

Il n’y a qu’une seule beauté, celle de la vérité qui se révèle, confiait Auguste Rodin.

Depuis que l’artiste a voulu utiliser la matière pour traduire une émotion, exprimer une sensation, cette course magique à la recherche d’une réalité souvent insaisissable a commencé. Le sculpteur entend ainsi traduire la relation secrète qu’il entretient avec le bronze, le marbre et le fer. Alors s’engage le travail du regard et de la main.

Voltaire soulignait l’importance du geste : « Tous les arts de la main écrivait-il, ont sans doute précédé la métaphysique de plusieurs siècles ». Ce que complétait Antoine de Saint-Exupéry en affirmant que « si le sculpteur n’est que science et intelligence, ses mains manqueront de génie ».

Telle nous apparaît l’œuvre de Michel LEVY quand il fait surgir un rêve, un mythe, utilisant le volume pour parfaire le mouvement.
Le fondement de son art se situe dans la précision et la réaction que suscitent chez lui l’inspiration et l’imagination. Il impose avec naturel un style délicat et personnel. Il ne se laisse pas influencer par la sensibilité d’une époque. Il poursuit une tradition qui remonte à l’Antiquité, ne subissant jamais les effets des modes.

Chaque génération impose ainsi à la sculpture son empreinte. Les nus de Michel LEVY restent pudiques et calmes. Ils nous apprennent que le corps demeure l’enveloppe de l’âme, inséparable, comme le disait Degas dont les statues ne se souciaient que d’une attitude naturelle.

Des œuvres de Michel LEVY se dégage toujours l’étrange magie d’un secret. Au-delà de la force et de la splendeur des formes, elles nous entraînent à la recherche d’une vision intérieure qui demeure.

Pierre-Christian TAITTINGER
ancien ministre
Maire du XVIe arrondissement

  • Facebook
  • YouTube
  • Instagram

Site PEINTURES cliquez  ICI     © 2020- Michel Levy